Chris Walla Guest DJs at WFPK

Death Cab for Cutie guitarist and one-time KCMU volunteer Chris Walla stopped by WFPK Friday while in town for the band’s show at The Louisville Palace. Before taking listeners on a spin through his iPad Nano as the day’s Guest DJ, Walla spoke with the station’s Kyle Meredith about growing up listening to the range of music heard across the radio dial in Seattle:

…a third university station that was devoted exclusively to the weirdest, craziest, most left-of-the-dial, under-the-radar stuff that anybody could even fathom playing, which at that point was KCMU and is now KEXP…

…and the warm place in his heart for KCMU:

I was 16, and I saved up my lawn mowing money over the summer to donate my $60 to become a member of KCMU. And, they sent me my premium in the mail which I think was a Swervedrive record. It was amazing thing. I really felt like I was part of something.

Listen to the full interview here.

Photo by artist.

Leave a Reply

